From Humble Beginings

I actually wrestled with the title for this post. One alternative was, “From Simple Beginnings.” On one hand it is fitting for a post on the first word processor but then again those machines were anything but simple. When I first spotted the story on Gizmodo, How Word Processors Changed the Novel, I was intrigued enough to hop over to the original story, The Book-Writing Machine, which appeared in Slate.com.

I began my first novel when I was twelve, playing on a portable manual typewriter my mother had in her closet. By the end of high school I had moved onto an electric typewriter. I wouldn’t catch up to word processing until my mother bought the family’s first computer half way through my college career. This was a Tandy TL with an 8 mhz 286 processor, 640k of memory and a 20 MB hard drive. My mobile phone eats it for lunch, but such is the march of technology.

What catches my imagination, sadly not quite imagination, was that not too far back and certainly in many of our lifetimes, writers were typing and re-typing pages. I remember this with a bit of nostalgia and file folders still crammed with these pages. Technology has a way of wiping the memory faster than we would like.  Now I write from virtually anywhere on cloud connected PC’s, my tablet and even my mobile. I can create, edit and publish a work without ever committing one mark to a piece of paper. Technically I can do all that without a keystroke, but I am a little old fashioned (isn’t that rich) in that I prefer typing, or my Schroeder like facsimile of typing. I am not ready to talk my story into my tablet. Who knows where we will be in twenty years, direct cranial transcription, maybe. While imagining the future is fun, I enjoy looking back at what once was the cutting edge and for that reason enjoyed reading this article.

About Vincent A. Alascia

Vincent is the author of, "In the Presence of Gods," "Xristos: Chosen of God," and coming soon, "Undead Heart," available on Kindle and paperback, as well as works that have appeared in anthologies and online. Originally an East Coast native, he makes his home in the Phoenix area of Arizona with his wife and three attention grabbing felines. Vincent is an active member of the West Valley Writers' Workshop and an Adult Services librarian at the Maricopa County Library District Northwest Regional Library in Surprise, Arizona.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to From Humble Beginings

  1. Gale says:

    Funny you should write this post today. I have a blog post not yet complete which began similarly, only backwards, based on an article I read this morning about the first wireless, implantable, rechargeable brain-computer interface that may soon undergo human trials. Like you, I trace my roots back to humble (and simple) beginnings in the digital world. It’s an amazing thing, and sometimes I find it hard to accept that all of this is quite real. Then, of course, it *isn’t* — is it? 🙂

Leave a Reply

