I’ve Dropped Facebook

It feels so freeing to say that. As of today, Friday August 13th I have deactivated and deleted my Facebook account. Facebook lately has just become a den of racism and misinformation. Not to mention scams. I’ve been stung three times. The first two were for small amounts, items I never received. The last one was an item that arrived but was in no way what was represented in the ad.

In the beginning it was fun reconnecting with old friends and family. At some point Facebook morphed into some kind of bizarre idea battle ground. I get that liberals and conservatives will have differences of opinion, but there are some things that just are not open for debate. Facebook for whatever reason revels in those debates, and I’m just tired of it.

On the positive side it should give me more time to devote to this blog and other social media outlets that the multi-headed Hydra of Facebook. From a writer / brand side it should be interesting to see how this goes. Granted I never made any money from Facebook even when I paid for page boosts. Let me know in the comments what you think. Are you about at the end of your social media thread?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.